NCSR DEMOKRITOS Institute of Nuclear and Particle Physics

The Institute of Nuclear and Particle Physics (INPP), at NCSR Demokritos, has as its mission the experimental and theoretical research, scientific excellence and innovation in High-Energy Physics, Nuclear Physics and Astro-Particle Physics as well as their applications in line with the National Research and Innovation Strategy for Smart Specialisation. The experimental and theoretical research in High Energy Physics focuses on the study of elementary particles and their interactions. INPP participates in the CMS and ATLAS experiments of the LHC at CERN. The Detector Instrumentation Laboratory (DIL) and the Data Acquisition, Monitoring and Analysis Laboratory (DAMA) of INPP, develop innovative detector technologies and instrumentation along with applications in science and innovation.

Nuclear Physics research focuses on Nuclear Structure, Nuclear Reactions, Nuclear Astrophysics and the study of interactions of X-rays with matter. The INPP hosts a 5.5. MV Tandem accelerator, a unique research infrastructure in Greece, open to external users from Greece and abroad. The Tandem accelerator laboratory is an interdisciplinary open-access research infrastructure with innovative applications covering the fields of cultural heritage, environment, energy, human health and the development and testing of advanced materials and detectors. The XRF laboratory focuses on cultural heritage, environmental monitoring and biomedicine and offers technology transfer and on-site analytical services to museums, archaeological sites and other institutions.

The Astro-Particle Physics group participates in the development, deployment, data acquisition and data analysis of the kilometre cube underwater neutrino telescope in the Mediterranean, KM3NeT. The INPP hosts the Laboratory of Assembly, Testing and Calibration of the Digital Optical Modules, the basic units of the KM3NeT telescope. The INPP supports also the Deep-Sea Technology and Astro-Particle Physics Research Infrastructure in South-West Peloponnese (Kalamata, Pylos, Methoni).

Skip to content