Institute of Nuclear and Particle Physics
Patriarxou Grigoriou & Neapoleos
P.O: 60037
15310 Aghia Paraskevi
tel: +30 2106503512
fax: +30 2106503529
email: info AT


Harissopulos Sotirios

Director of Research

Phone: +30.210.6503493


Research Interests

Born in 1960 in Greece, Dr. Harissopulos is the Head of the Tandem Laboratory of the Institute of Nuclear Physics (INP) of the National Centre for Scientific Research (NCSR) "Demokritos". He studied physics at the University of Thessaloniki, Greece, and received his PhD in June 1989 from the University of Cologne, Germany. For his PhD, he was granted a scholarship from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and carried out research in nuclear structure at the Institute of Nuclear Physics of the University of Cologne, focussing on lifetime measurements with the plunger method under the supervision of Prof. Peter von Brentano. During his PhD time, he held a position as Teaching and Research Assistant (Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft). After his return to Greece, he started as Assistant Professor at the Technological-Educational Institute of Athens (Department of Physics and Chemistry). In December 1995, he was elected as a tenure-track research scientist at the INP of "Demokritos". In February 1999, he was evaluated by an independent external scientific committee and promoted to senior researcher (“Principal Investigator”).  Similarly, he was promoted to the position of “Director of Research”, equivalent to that of a University Professor, in December 2006. In the period from June 2003 to May 2004, he was on sabbatical at the University of Bochum, Germany, working together with Prof. Claus Rolfs. He has received a number of research grants either as scientist in charge or visiting scientist. He is the Chair of the FINUSTAR conference series. He has additionally been the convener of two workshops funded by the European Science Foundation (ESF). His research activities include experimental nuclear astrophysics, nuclear structure, and applications of nuclear methods. He has approx. 100 publications in referred journals and peer-reviewed conference proceedings with more than 600 citations. He is currently supervising 4 PhD students.

S. Harissopulos is currently a member of NuPECC (for Greece) and Representative of NuPECC in the Working Group “Public Awareness in Nuclear Science – PANS”, formed jointly with the European Physical Society (EPS). He is representing the Greek funding agency (GSRT) in the FP7-ERA-Net in Nuclear Physics in Europe (NuPNET). He is a founding member of the Hellenic Nuclear Physics Society, elected Secretary from 1994 to1996 and from 1999 to 2002 and elected President from May 2002 to May 2008. Since January 2001, he is an elected member of the Scientific Board of the INP/"Demokritos" and Chairman in the period 12/2001-12/2002. From 2003 to 2005, he served as (elected) member of the Governing Board of the Hellenic Researchers Association. He is member of the European Physical Society and the German Physical Society (DPG). In the period 2003-2007, he was the Chair of the South-East European Nuclear Physics Network consisting of 12 research organizations from 5 Southeast European countries and Turkey. He was member of a number of International Conferences and Workshops, invited speaker and lecturer in many conferences and schools, and referee in several scientific journals. He has served as an Independent External Evaluator of a number of  PhD theses abroad.